Call us: 613.232.9459 | Email:

About AIC


Canadian agriculture is a global leader in stewardship of our land through science.


For the Agri-food Innovation Council to be a unifying voice for Canada’s cross-sectorial agricultural research and innovation.


  1. Influence Public Policy
  2. Disseminate Information
  3. Promote Careers in Agricultural Research
  4. Facilitate Networking
  5. Be the key partner in Canada for international activity


On June 2, 1920, the Canadian Society of Technical Agriculturists was formally launched. The idea of an organization dedicated to the professional aspects of Canadian agriculture caught on and branches quickly formed across the country.

By 1944 the Canadian Society of Technical Agriculturists had evolved into the Agricultural Institute of Canada. Over time, nine provincial institutes of agrologists came on board to administer the formation, recognition and control of professional groups under provincial jurisdiction.

In 1995, following almost a decade of discussion and debate, members of the Agricultural Institute of Canada voted to restructure the organization into a federation of Member Organizations.

For ninety-five years, AIC responded to the needs of its members in serving the agricultural community, playing a central role as a source of credible information and comment for the Canadian agriculture and agri-food sector.

The Institute has established itself as one of Canada’s foremost advocates for agricultural research and an important tool to facilitate the dissemination of agricultural research to academics and industry stakeholders.

In 2004 the AIC became a member-based organization once again.

In 2019 the name of the organization changed from Agricultural Institute of Canada to the Agri-food Innovation Council to better reflect AIC’s mandate and activities.

AIC Membership categories include individual members as well as organizations, associations and corporate. The membership will determine views on issues as well as elect the national board.

Board of Directors


Reno Pontarollo, PhD, MBA
President & CEO
Genome Prairie



Vice Chair

Julianne Curran
Vice President, Market Innovation
Pulse Canada



Michael Trevan, PhD, CBiol, FIBiol, P.Ag.
Dean Emeritus, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences
University of Manitoba


Rajasekaran Lada, PhD
Professor and Department Chair of Environmental Sciences
Founding Director, Christmas Tree Research Centre
Dalhousie Agricultural Campus, Dalhousie University


Darcy Herauf
Director – FCC AgExpert / Directeur principal, FAC AgExpert
Farm Credit Canada / Financement agricole Canada


John M. Hyshka
Prairie Tide

Karen Churchill
President and CEO
Ag-West Bio

Tania Humphrey, PhD
Vice President, Research & Development
Vineland Research & Innovation Centre